He dared to wrestle with God

The Will to be Onesself

Jacob was renamed Israel, meaning wrestled with God. That particular passage has always left me wondering. I suppose I was confused by the point of the story. What was the lesson we were to take away from those events? I don’t think that I understood a significant aspect of it until I became a therapist. I began to see so many people come into my office and begin to feel such guilt over their fears, anger, and pain. They would lament that they did not rely upon God more. They were very afraid or ridden with shame at the briefest mention of being disappointed or angry with God. The maelstrom of emotions they experienced were intensified and made so much heavier by adding deep guilt, shame, and fear for having such emotions.

Ultimately, at the heart of all of those struggles is a fear that God will turn from them…

View original post 340 more words

Leave a Reply

